I hate to say it, but the program is officially coming to a close. No more missing school to attend our monthly Skype sessions with Chile and Sri Lanka. No more weekly meetings with the girls from all over the Syracuse area. No more dialogs about our thoughts on human rights.  No more learning about and growing from all these amazing people that I now call my friends. 

All year the group has been a huge commitment and a lot of work. Not everybody is cut out for this, nor do many people care about it. However I can honestly say I enjoyed learning about Matilda Joslyn Gage. I relished in bonding with these peoples, all united in the common goal for a better position of women and frankly a better world. Though I want to be an Environmental Engineer I really do recognize how important this type of work is in society today. There is still so much to be done! I can only hope that Ill be a part of it! 

Just recently I won an award and scholarship through the University of Rochester, titled “The Frederick Douglas and Susan B. Anthony Award in Humanities and Social Sciences”. I cannot help but feel proud. Through I don’t know who, someone nominated me: they saw all the hard work I have done this year and how much I have changed for the better. I think that really summed up how influential this experience has been. It is completely unique to anything I have ever heard, and truly allowed for its members to empower themselves and become better people of the world. When I tell others about the program they saw “Wow... thats college application gold”. Ok yes it is, but it is for a reason. What many don’t understand at this point in their lives- while beginning to think about college- is that the people who are going to excel are not just the extremely smart perfect gpa kids. We want our generation to be problem solvers and to care about improving our society- not just caring about being on top. I think Im just beginning to show some of these qualities and for that I am glad. You haven’t heard the last of Mikayla Jaz Cleary-Hammarstedt yet. Thats a name your gonna want to remember, because I’m gunning for greatness. I will make a difference. You just wait. 

Sofi
6/7/2013 02:25:40 pm

Wow Mikayla Congrats on the award! I can't wait to see what your doing in 20 years. I know it will be something great!

Reply
Mikayla
6/7/2013 02:26:45 pm

Awwww thanks sof! We will still be best friends like always and you will be an amazing teacher changing the lives of the next generation!

Reply
Kelly
6/7/2013 02:37:24 pm

I loved your point about getting into college. I mean grades dont matter in the long run if you are just a horrible person. Hopefully thats not me....

Reply
Mikayla
6/7/2013 02:39:22 pm

Omg kelly stop you are a wonderful human being and any/ every college would be blessed to have you

Reply
Laura
6/7/2013 02:40:06 pm

Congrats again Mikayla that award is really cool! Maybe next year I will be cool enough to get one like you

Reply
KHamms
6/19/2013 05:05:03 am

You da WOman.

Reply



Leave a Reply.